The Happy Place

You know when you hear a song that magically transports you to your happy place? Whenever I hear Coldplay’s Yellow, it’s my wedding day all over again. If Bonnie Bailey’s Ever After plays, I’m transported to my twenties. If it’s any song by Pearl Jam, I’m head banging on auto pilot. Well, my daughter is two months shy of her second birthday and she has managed to secure her first happy place song.

Let me set the scene:

Toddler in her crib profuse with tears, vehemently refusing the nasal aspirator.

Cue in  Baa-Baa Black Sheep and commence toddler head bob,  arm flailing and tushy wiggles.

Toddler summons the delivery of farm books and flips to sheep page for sing-along.

Anthem  repeated over and over… and over again.

Nasal aspirator administered.

Happy place song

Missed the bopping. Here's the sing- along with the sheep folk

What songs take you and your child to the happy place?

2 responses to “The Happy Place

  1. I remember listening to my mom sing in church as a child and thinking she had the most angelic voice. That had to be from the many years of mental conditioning as a baby. You sound like sweetness to her ears.

Leave a Reply

